Blog #1 – About me

My name is Kryston and I am 24 years old. All my life I’ve lived with something called Vertical Maxillary Excess or VME. More commonly known as a “gummy smile”, this is a condition where my upper jaw has grown too long and I have a smile that shows more gum than it does teeth. A normal smile typically should not show much visible gums as shown below:

15e37409181481936368429c0708ab3f

But for me, it seems as though my gums are about the only thing that shows when I smile. Most people try to say that they don’t notice, but I tend to believe they are just trying to make me feel better. After all, a nice smile is one of the first things I notice about a person and my smile is very different from everyone else. I’ve never been bullied or made fun of for it (to my knowledge) but I’ve always been very insecure about it. The former teenager in me wonders if my smile is the reason I was never asked on dates in high school.

My gummy smile has never held me back from smiling. In fact, close family members nicknamed me “smiley” from a very young age. For this reason I don’t think most people realize my smile is one of my BIGGEST insecurities. My family and my husband all love my smile, but they also understand that my happiness is important. For the first time in my life I am in the position financially to actually do something about it.

I’ve begun the process of finally fixing my teeth and achieving the smile I’ve wanted my entire life. My orthodontist discussed a few options with me including jaw surgery (the gold standard for my case), lip surgery, lip botox, and braces with a special system to move my teeth vertically. I’ll explain this process in posts to come. I have chosen the braces route and I’m excited to document my journey. I’ve never had braces before and I can remember wanting them desperately for the last 14 years. I have scoured the internet for hours looking for personal accounts of smiles and treatments like mine but I just can’t find much. For this reason I am telling my story in hopes that I can inspire someone else who has a smile like me.

Welcome to my blog! My first official orthodontic appointment is in about 2 weeks. I’m happy to be able to share this experience with everyone as I improve my smile and change my life!

And finally, a few pictures of my gummy smile at its finest. Stare away my friends!

 

41161_422684557482_2267658_n13516212_10153629624812483_4317740101173343174_n13177689_10153522560542483_6855033528399039158_n1383971_10151776330947483_143253827_n988413_10152488018767483_3208051129114817398_n

9 thoughts on “Blog #1 – About me

  1. Oh my Kryston…. I just love you and can’t wait to follow your journey. You are beautiful just the way you are, but I myself know what it’s like to have a smile that causes insecurity. Good luck to you. I’ll be watching and cheering for you!
    Love Jill

    Like

  2. I’m so proud of you!! I love your smile and never thought anything wrong with it. I understand where you are coming from though. It’s like my lazy eye, people say they don’t notice it or I have awesome eyes. Like you, I hate my eyes and have difficulty looking at people for long periods of time, unfortunately there isn’t anything I can do for it. As I get older, I don’t care if people like it or not, my family, friends and hubby aren’t bothered by it. IF there was something I could do about my eye, yes I still would!! I love that you are trying to help others with your blog and are willing to be open about it. I love you girlie and will continue to follow your progress. Best wishes on your journey 🙂

    Like

    1. So nice that you understand where I’m coming from! I’ve never thought anything wrong with your eye either but that’s how it goes we all have our insecurities. Thanks for the well wishes. Love you!!

      Like

  3. You’re amazing Kryston!…and such a beauty! Good luck in your endeavor. Can’t wait to follow the results. You kept a pretty good secret with your insecurity. It’s nice you are able to document your journey and be an inspiration to others.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ah my precious daughter of God. You are so very beautiful and always humble 🙂 Your blog is yet another example of your desire to help others. It will certainly be an interesting journey!! Part of being your mom is yelling “Don’t change a thing!” and yet I know that you need to try this for your own personal growth and happiness and so I wish you the best of luck sweetie!! Much Love, Mama

    Like

  5. Hi Kryston. Congratulations on making the big decision to get the smile you always wanted! I too have just started my journey of braces to correct an underbite and will eventually get double jaw surgery. All the blogs I’ve come across have all been through their surgery and had their braces off so it’s nice to see someone at the beginning of their journey like me! If you want check out my blog too, hopefully it can provide you with some moral support! Good luck for the rest of your journey and I’ll be sure to keep an eye on your blog! 😌 William x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

